Skip to content

Content sharing

Sharing content with your team makes it easier to collaborate, improves decision-making across teams, and keeps everyone on the same page. It also saves time by ensuring stakeholders have access to key insights without constantly recreating or requesting the same reports.

Each user is assigned a content access role on each piece of content. Roles can be assigned at the content or folder level.

Users can be assigned the following roles on individual documents.

PermissionNo AccessViewerEditorManagerOwner
View dashboardsX✓✓✓✓
View & explore workbooksXX✓✓✓
Update dashboards & workbooksXX✓✓✓
Delete folders they createdXX✓✓✓
Manage permissions on contentXXX✓✓
Receive access requestsXXX✓✓
PermissionNo AccessViewerEditorManagerOwner
Search for the folder & its contentsX✓✓✓✓
View folder contentsX✓✓✓✓
View dashboards & explore workbooksXX✓✓✓
Edit content in the folderXX✓✓✓
Add new content to the folderXX✓✓✓
Delete folder contentXXX✓✓
Manage folder and content permissionsXXX✓✓
Receive access requestsXXXX✓

Best practice: assign the least permissive role that satisfies a user’s needs.

To grant content access, click the Share icon near the top right corner of any folder or document:

To share content with individual users or groups:

  1. Click the Share with users or groups field.
  2. Select the users and groups you want to share with.
  3. Use the access role dropdown (next to the Share button) to assign their role.
  4. Click Share.

Use the access role dropdown in the Organization row to share the content with your entire organization. This role will be applied to users when they access the content unless they have explicitly been assigned a different role. Changes will be saved automatically.

The access role you select applies to personal content you share from My Documents or content you move to your organization’s Shared hub. When you grant an organization role to personal content, it is shared organization-wide while remaining in your My Documents folder. As the owner, you retain archive and restore rights on the content even after it has been shared with the organization.

The Owner content role grants the user full content management permissions to the content; they will also receive access requests.

Documents and folders can have multiple owners, but a piece of content must have at least one owner at all times. In this case, a new owner must be assigned before you can change the current owner’s content role or remove their access entirely.

Disabled Remove access and content role options in the access role dropdown with a tooltip reading 'Personal space owner', showing the user's access can't be changed as they are the only owner

The contents of a folder inherit the access role of the parent folder. Documents and subfolders can be assigned a more permissive role than the parent, but not a less permissive one.

For example, when Folder 1 requires an Editor role or higher:

  • DirectoryFolder 1 - Editor or higher/
    • Document A - Editor or Manager
    • DirectorySubfolder 1 - Editor or Manager/
      • Document B - Inherits from Subfolder 1
      • DirectorySubfolder 2 - Inherits from Subfolder 1/
        • …

When Folder 1 is set to No access, documents and subfolders inside it can be assigned any more permissive role:

  • DirectoryFolder 1 - No access/
    • Document A - Viewer or higher
    • DirectorySubfolder 1 - Viewer or higher/
      • Document B - Inherits from Subfolder 1
      • DirectorySubfolder 2 - Inherits from Subfolder 1/
        • …

If a folder contains content a user has access to, the user will see the folder. They will only see the content they have access to within it. Folder names are always visible.

For example, Folder 1 has a No access role, but it contains a document that the entire organization has access to. Users will be able to see the folder and the document.